Board & Committees

The American Board of Electrodiagnostic Medicine (ABEM) is an independent credentialing body in electrodiagnostic medicine. Although it is organized and operated as a committee of the American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine for administrative purposes, it is a self-perpetuating Board and is completely autonomous for purposes of credentialing criteria and procedures.

The ABEM Board consists of eight individuals who are Board certified. The members, equally representing the disciplines of neurology and physical medicine and rehabilitation, each serve 4-year terms. A Board Chair is elected from among the Board members for a non-renewable 3-year term; this position alternates between a neurologist and physical medicine and rehabilitation physician. New members of the Board are recommended by the ABEM Nominating Committee and approved by the Board.

The ABEM Board establishes and promulgates criteria for certification utilizing a combination of academic training, clinical experience, and examination components selected on the basis of their relationship to knowledge, competence, or achievement in the field of electrodiagnostic medicine.

The ABEM Board also establishes and promulgates procedures for its certification activities which ensure that due process is afforded to individuals who apply for, or hold, Board credentials. To conduct its business, the Board meets one to two times per year. The Board is assisted by the following committees: Appeals, Credentials, CNCT Examination, ABEM Initial Examination, Maintenance of Certification Exam and Nominating.

Board of Directors

Peter Grant, MD, Chair
Janice Massey, MD, Vice Chairman
Timothy R. Dillingham, MD, Secretary
Kathleen Kennelly, MD, Treasurer
Andrea Boon, MD
Vern Juel, MD
Milind Kothari, MD
Faye Tan, MD

Shirlyn A. Adkins, JD, Executive Director
Anna Vredenburg, Staff Liaison



ABEM committees serve in creation of content and organization of the ABEM, MOCP, and CNCT Exams.  To express interest in becoming involved in any of these committees, please click the committee link below and then the Volunteer button.  ABEM committees are formed in the spring of the year.

ABEM Examination Committee
ABEM Continuous Certification Committee
ABEM Technologist Examination Committee
ABEM US CAQ Exam Committee