Preparation tip:

"The EDX Self-Assessment Exam (SAE) helped me become familiar with the contents and format of the ABEM examination – especially the video part. A great study tool."  

Ikjae Lee, MD
Top 10% 2017 ABEM Examination


The ABEM examination is the only U.S. exam certifying physicians in EDX medicine, with more than 3,500 physicians currently certified. The ABEM certification process requires physicians to obtain specific academic training and clinical experience, and to demonstrate competency in the EDX evaluation of neuromuscular and musculoskeletal systems by passing a comprehensive written, computer-based examination.

Reasons to become ABEM Certified:
  1. ABEM certification signifies that you have passed the most comprehensive examination in EDX medicine.
  2. ABEM certification demonstrates your dedication to a high level of quality in EDX medicine.
  3. Some EDX laboratories require ABEM certification of physicians to practice in their laboratory.
  4. ABEM certification is recognized nationally and internationally as providing the highest standards in EDX medicine.
  5. ABEM certification is required to become a fellow of the American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine.

Fill out the Interest in Certification form to sign up for communications related to upcoming ABEM activities.

ABEM Initial Certification

The ABEM Initial Certification Examination is administered in Pearson Vue Testing Centers every spring. The computer-based examination is approximately 200 multiple-choice questions, including waveform items and static images.

Candidates who pass the initial examination will automatically enroll in a 10-year maintenance of certification program (MOCP) cycle.

ABEM Maintenance of Certification Program

The ABEM Maintenance of Certification Program (MOCP) is a 10-year cycle where Diplomates are required to demonstrate their commitment to life-long learning through Category 1 CME activities. ABEM Diplomates must successfully pass the MOCP Exam once during their 10-year cycle in order to maintain their certification. 

The exam is held once a year, typically near the end of the year, and is administered at the candidate's workplace through an online testing system. It is approximately 125 multiple-choice questions.