Preparation tip:

"The EDX Self-Assessment Exam (SAE) helped me become familiar with the contents and format of the ABEM examination – especially the video part. A great study tool."  

Ikjae Lee, MD
Top 10% 2017 ABEM Examination

Maintenance of Certification Program

The ABEM encourages Diplomates to continue to assimilate new knowledge and techniques and develop their clinical skills with the ABEM Maintenance of Certification Program (MOCP). The MOCP sets high standards for quality medical care and professional accountability.

Requirements for the 10 year certification cycle:

ABEM Diplomates demonstrate their commitment to life-long learning through Category 1 CME activities. These activities include seminars, grand rounds, and skills courses. The ABEM MOCP CME requirements are:
  • 50 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits (during 10-year cycle) for Diplomates enrolled in the MOCP before April 29, 2009. Following successful completion of the MOCP examination, 150 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits will be required.
  • 150 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits (during 10-year cycle) for Diplomates enrolled in the MOCP in on or after April 29, 2009.
Annual Fees
ABEM Diplomates must also pay annual fees ($30 paid on a yearly basis to avoid late fees).  This fee helps to cover the cost of maintaining the database that manages diplomate information, administering the MOCP program and providing customer service to diplomates.  

ABEM Diplomates must successfully pass the MOCP exam once during their 10-year cycle in order to maintain their certification. The exam tests fundamental cognitive knowledge in EDX medicine as well as current and clinically valid practice-related knowledge. You may take the MOCP exam the year of your certification expiration or one year prior.

The MOCP exam is held once a year and is taken online at the candidate’s place of work. Candidates are required to identify a proctor (e.g., supervisor, coworker) for the exam. The proctor attests that the test taker is who they say they are, and that no outside materials were used during the exam.
To maintain Board certification, Diplomates certified after 1994 must successfully complete the MOCP. Diplomates certified prior to 1994 may participate in the program on a voluntary basis, and must follow the process outlined in the MOCP. However, Diplomates certified prior to 1994 will not lose their Diplomate status if they withdraw from the program or are unsuccessful on the examination.

ABEM Certification Lapsed?

If your certification lapses, you aren't required to re-take the original ABEM certification examination. To reinstate your certification, you need to meet the applicable MOCP CME Category 1 requirements listed above, pay the owed fees and penalties, and pass the MOCP exam. There will be a lapse in your certification, but you will be reinstated as an ABEM Diplomate. Visit the link below to read ABEM's statement regarding certification and MOC.

ABEM Position on Advocacy for Board Certification and MOC

ABEM MOCP Examination

Information for Candidates Booklet

The ABEM MOCP Information for Candidates booklet contains key dates, application and examination fees, ADA information, eligibility and application requirements, examination overview, example questions, study resources, and more.

Requirements for Eligibility

Candidates must meet eligibility requirements for the year in which the examination is taken, regardless of prior approval. Eligibility does not carry over automatically from year to year.